Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Review: Dear Emmie Blue


Title: Dear Emmie Blue

Author: Lia Louis

Release Date: July 14, 2020

Rating: /5 Stars

Find it here: Goodreads

Synopsis from Goodreads: At sixteen, Emmie Blue stood in the fields of her school and released a red balloon into the sky. Attached was her name, her email address…and a secret she desperately wanted to be free of. Weeks later, on a beach in France, Lucas Moreau discovered the balloon and immediately emailed the attached addressed, sparking an intense friendship between the two teens.


Now, fourteen years later, Emmie is hiding the fact that she’s desperately in love with Lucas. She has pinned all her hopes on him and waits patiently for him to finally admit that she’s the one for him. So dedicated to her love for Lucas, Emmie has all but neglected her life outside of this relationship—she’s given up the search for her absentee father, no longer tries to build bridges with her distant mother, and lives as a lodger to an old lady she barely knows after being laid off from her job. And when Lucas tells Emmie he has a big question to ask her, she’s convinced this is the moment he’ll reveal his feelings for her. But nothing in life ever quite goes as planned, does it?


Emmie Blue is about to learn everything she thinks she knows about life (and love) is just that: what she thinks she knows. Is there such thing as meant to be? Or is it true when they say that life is what happens when you are busy making other plans? A story filled with heart and humor, Dear Emmie Blue is perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

My Review: This book hit me way harder than I was thinking it would! I wasn't sure what to expect going into it but I ended up falling in love with the characters and the story. It's a slower paced more character driven book but that worked for this story. I immediately connected with Emmie Blue and loved her! I laughed and I cried so it was a 5 star read for me!

*I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All opinions are my own.*

  • twitter
  • instagram

©2017 by Pacific Northwest Bookworm. Proudly created with Wix.com