top of page

Review: Died in the Wool

Title: Died in the Wool

Series: Whiskey Business Mystery #4

Author: Melinda Mullet

Release Date: June 18th, 2019

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Find it here: GoodreadsAmazon

Synopsis from Goodreads: No good deed goes unpunished in the Whisky Business cozy mystery series as distillery owner Abigail Logan uncovers dark secrets—and murder—at a local charity. Photojournalist Abi Logan is finally ready to put her hectic career on hold and set down roots in the heart of the Scottish countryside. Studying the business and art of distilling whisky at Abbey Glen and volunteering at the Shepherd’s Rest women’s shelter in her spare time seem a surefire way to find the peace and stability she craves. It’s also the logical way to take her mind off her personal life. Abi’s business partner, Grant MacEwan, is facing a career-threatening disability, and as much as Abi longs to be there for him, he seems to prefer the company of a rival. But as Abi becomes more involved with Shepherd’s Rest, she discovers that their refuge is elusive. When the shelter is rocked by a murder/suicide, Abi is outraged by the police’s lack of attention to these already marginalized women. Increasingly confident in her own skills as an investigator, Abi steps in to find out what the police will not: who left one young woman dead and another missing. But when more deadly deeds come to light, Abi must race to unravel the connections between the shelter’s benefactors and the women they have pledged to protect—and expose the killer before he strikes again.

My Review: This book is another great addition to the series! I enjoyed it just as much as I did the first three. The flow and pace of the book is great, making it an easy read to get lost in. The author does a fabulous job of setting up the Scottish hills atmosphere without being overly descriptive, leaving me with a serious desire to visit! I also love the Whiskey distillery angle. It’s one I haven’t seen in other cozy mystery series and I appreciate that. Overall this is a really great series and this book is just as great. While I think reading the series from the beginning is always the best option, they can all be read as standalones.

*I received this book from Alibi Publishing in exchange for an honest review*

bottom of page