• Megan Worley

Review: A Study in Murder

Title: A Study in Murder

Series: A Victorian Book Club Mystery #1

Author: Callie Hutton

Release Date: May 12, 2020

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Find it here: Goodreads

Synopsis from Goodreads: A mystery author is charged with murder--and the plot thickens faster than anyone can turn the pages--in USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton's new series debut, perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Ellery Adams.


Bath, England, 1890. Mystery author Lady Amy Lovell receives an anonymous letter containing shocking news: her fiancé, Mr. Ronald St. Vincent, has been dabbling in something illegal, which causes her to promptly break their engagement.


Two evenings later, as Lady Lovell awaits a visit from Lord William Wethington, fellow member of the Bath Mystery Book Club, her former fiancé makes an unexpected and most unwelcome appearance at her house. She promptly sends him to the library to cool his heels but later discovers the room seemingly empty--until she stumbles upon a dead Mr. St. Vincent with a knife in his chest.


Lord Wethington arrives to find Lady Amy screaming and sends for the police, but the Bobbies immediately assume that she is the killer. Desperate to clear her name, Lady Amy and Lord Wethington launch their own investigation--and stir up a hornet's nest of suspects, from the gardener who served time in prison for murder to a vengeful woman who was spurned by St. Vincent before he proposed to Lady Amy.


Can they close the book on the case before the real killer gets away with murder?

My Review: This is a lovely historical mystery and great start to a new series. The cast of characters was great and the developing romance was well done. I loved how fast paced the story was though it took a little while for me to get into it. I also felt the author did a great job portraying the issues of women's rights at the time. Overall this was a pretty good start to the series and I look forward to the next book in the series.

*I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the publisher. All opinions are my own.*

0 views
  • twitter
  • instagram

©2017 by Pacific Northwest Bookworm. Proudly created with Wix.com